Southeast Europe Atrium European Union

Tirana Municipality / Albania

Tirana, Albania’s capital, with a surface of 42 square kilometers is the largest city and the largest economic, administrative, political, social and cultural centre of the country. Tirana is located in Central Albania. Tirana has assumed the look of a great European city, with striking architecture, modern buildings, innumerable shops, boutiques, cafés, bars and restaurants, and with a broad eight-lane boulevard on both sides of Lana river.

The Municipality of Tirana has a population of around 700 000 inhabitants, and the so-called greater Tirana region counts up to even more.

Tirana was founded as a city in 1614. An almost unimportant centre until the beginning of the twentieth century, Tirana was proclaimed capital of Albania in 1920. City Planning and Construction activity of Italian neighbors during the years 1930-s until capitulation of Fascism in 1943, provided to the city an axis and a look in the centre, which preserves its configuration even at the present days. City centre and the Old Bazaar were destroyed during the communist regime, new arteries were opened and central square, Skanderbeg Square, was expanded.

Tirana counts 39% of total registered enterprises of the country. The city hosts 90% of the big enterprises in Albania and more than 80% of the foreign companies and joint ventures. The economy of Tirana benefits a great deal from the presence of the universities, research and scientific institutions.


Contact person: Sokol Mici
This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it
Web Site:


Official web page of the South-East Europe Programme

Official web page of Romanian Ministry of Regional Development and Tourism

Official web page of Ministry of the environment and spatial planning of Republic of Slovenia

Italian contact point for the South East Europe Programme